Anatomy of distortion

Whether she’s writing about the endless curiosity of the body, the challenges that accompany being a feminist who isn’t afraid to defend her autonomy….

Kimmy Walters in an interview by Mandy Shunnarah following her poetry book publication Killer

Reading this ,I wonder how I have come to read the word “autonomy” that is actually there, as “anatomy “. I noticed the perversion only when I took down this quote for keep.

Now, was it perversion? That was not what I intended but that was how it would emerge from my keyboard.

Coming back to “Autonomy”, I confess the word “anatomy” suggested itself to me when I started taking down notes. Was it because she was writing about the endless curiosity about the body?  The next thing you see is a feminist talking about the anatomy of the body, rather than autonomy of the feminist mind ,which means probably perceptual independence from male point of view that tends to color a person’s world view in a dominantly male world.

As a liberal I feel conscience-stricken about how we tend to distort what we read ,in line with our own narrow thinking.

Leave a Reply

